Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

zzr needs a "rest" after stalling before it will s

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by arithon, Mar 27, 2007.

1. I just started riding recently and am a complete noob, had a few teething problems, but things seem to be going ok so far. Apart from one thing...

If I stall the engine, I've found it won't start again straight away. It needs a "rest" first. The first time this happened, it just needed a minute. The second time it needed about 3 minutes. Tonight when I stalled it, it hasn't started up again.

Everytime the symptoms are the same: I press the starter, and nothing happens. No clicks, no turn over, nothing. Leave it a few minutes, and then everything is ok (apart from tonight). If I turn it off with the killswitch then it has no problems starting up straight away. Has anyone ever heard of a problem like this?

I had it serviced 3 weeks ago and the battery is new, but then I only ride it about twice a week, and not very far or for very long (mostly I've been practicing in the garage in my building) and considering the horn isn't working right now, I figure the battery needed charging. Just a little worried though that the "rest" didn't work this time. Is it possible that a new battery can discharge after 3 weeks if the bike isn't ridden regularly, and when it is ridden it doesn't rev high enough or for long enough to recharge it?

Thanks for any feedback!
  2. Battery charge didn't seem to make any difference. I think the starter switch is just tempermental, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I just had the solenoid replaced! Maybe its the switch itself this time, but then the horn doesn't work anymore either :-(

The bike can be push started, so I can ride it at least.