Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

ZXR250 - clinking noise, is it oil - PS where is the oil?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by papermate, Jun 17, 2006.

1. Hi, everyone, bit of a newbie here.

bought an zxr250 2 weeks ago. fair condition, test ride didnt indicate anything funny, but as of 2 days ago i have a bit of a problem.

When i start the bike (as well as a 15 year old import starts..) its starts well. The issue is that on acceleration up to about 4000 rpm there is a slight, clinking rattling noise, which dissapates from 4 - 8000 rpm then starts around 9 - 100000rpm.

When i ride and keep the revs about 8000 rpm the bike sounds fine, but when i pull in the clutch lever and change down there is that sound again.

When i come to a stop and put it in neutral there seems to be a slight, non-obviously but definately there ker-plumking kinky thing thats happening. I hope this is not a stupid comment but it sort of sounds like the valves or pistons are knocking about with lack of lubrication.

But im not sure where to check the oil, so i dont know what to do from this point other than take the bike in for a service.

any help or info appreciated.
  2. Check the oil by looking in the perfectly round hole toward the bottom of the right hand side fairing.
    Their is a window with your oil level behind the hole.
    Make sure your in the sun or have a flashlight handy.

It sounds like cam-chain noise to me, you will need to get it fixed asap if it is, if you let it go and it lets go, your in for more trouble than you ever really want.
  3. thanks, will look. i only assumed that was it, oil sump looks like what a car's does, only round.

http://ninja250.kingston.net/~jeb/Kawasaki Ninja 250 FAQ.pdf