Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

ZXR 250 Cutting out?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by IamDAN, Jan 1, 2008.

1. Hello people, I bought myself a 91zxr250 a week or so ago and it ran great on the test rides. The problem im having is that ill be cruising along at 100kph and the engine feels as though she running out of fuel. It will lose all power but continues to run untill i pull over (does that make sense?) I can hear the engine but there is nothing there.
    Because im new to the bike and riding for that matter im unsure on any problems these models may have had. After extensive searching ive read that the petcocks do play up and may need looking at, can anyone think of anything else to look for. Im pretty good on the tools so im not scared to have a go myself.

2. Try this simple test. Pop the fuel cap open and see if it makes any difference. You could have a vacuum issue in the tank.
  3. Yeah ive just been reading on this exact thing.. I have to also say that it usually doesnt happen till the bikes warm. (I think, like i say havnt had it long) What are the zxr's electricals like? are they known for problems.. Im leaning towards a fuelling problem but not ruling out electrical.

Oh and if it is a venting problem is it just a hose or is there more involved?
  4. your fuel line is blocked mate. I had this problem too but it was only because i got it serviced. The service idiot squashed one of the fuel line while putting the air box back. It was only letting roughing 50% of fuel and when i was on the hw, the bike would struggle and slowly start to stall.
    Take off your LH fairing and find the fuel line. follow it and make sure its not tangled or crushed by anything. look carefully mate and that should solve it.