Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

ZX2R lighting upgrade

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by Benlui, Sep 12, 2011.

1. Hi guys, sorry if this has been covered somewhere else, I did look but couldn't find anything... I just baught a zx2r/zxr 250 (88 model) it's in pretty good condition mechanically, although some of the fairings are scratched a little... and so far I absolutely LOVE it.

My only real issue is the lighting, I do enjoy riding at night a lot, and am just starting out riding, so I try to stick to roads I know, but the head lights on the bike are pretty average, now I'm not sure how far I need to go to upgrade this, wether it's just some new bulbs or a complete refit of some custom HID's but I'd like some input as I'm new to bikes don't know where to start?

I'd like a few options to look at... anything from just getting some new globes (although I don't know which ones as apparently these older japanese sport bikes have some non standard ones or something) or if anyone else has modified/costom done some new lighting how they did it and how much it cost....

Appreciate all your help in advance :)

Attached Files:

2. I don't know about headlight upgrades, but I approve of your choice of bike :D
  3. Haha thanks dude, nice to see my efforts were not invane, so much nicer then all the new 250's :D
  4. I've been looking at getting some HIDs for my Ninja, but am being turned off by the fact that HIDs don't work well in reflector housings (which your bike most likely has) as they just scatter the light in random directions. Projector housings are needed to get the most out of HIDs by projecting the light straight.