Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

ZX2R and FZR2500 questions

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by MYToyGE, Feb 17, 2007.

1. hey all im new to the whole road bike thing, i have been looking for a bike to lern on, 250 class but sports.
    i been lookin at everyhtin in the 250 range but i keep lookin at the zx2r's and the fzrs.... basicaly i want something realy reliable and handes great ... i keep seein fzrs for sale real cheap.. y is that? they a dud of a bike?

cheers guys/girls.

MYTOyGE

2. Cheap compared to what? All FZR/ZX2Rs are grey imports and at least 10 years old - so quality and reliabilty is going to depend heavily on how well it's been looked after (and the "dodginess" of the importer). Worth remembering when looking at price considering you can have a new 250 for 6-7k (eg Hyosung GT250R, Kwaka GPX/ZZR). So it's not that they were a dud - the fact that so many are still running after years of being thrashed, crashed and neglected is proof of just how well they were made. They may seem cheap compared to a CBR250RR but that's just because the prices of those are ridiculously over-inflated.

3. good point...

4. Hiya,

I got my ZXR250A (a 1990 model) a couple of months ago on eBay, not roadworthy and very very cheap. After spending $1400 bucks on it at a reputable place (Brighton Kawasaki) to make it roadworthy, it's all good.

Total spent was just over $4k, which I'm happy with as the bike is very quick for a 250, pretty reliable, and I'm not afraid of dropping it and trying things out with it. ;->

Also, the last run of ZXR250's made was around '2003 I think, so you can still get one that's not incredibly old.