Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Z1000 any good?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by Cocker, Jan 11, 2013.

1. Hi, Newbie here. Looking at getting my first roadie a Z1000 07, are they a good bike. Generally it will be used for communting and the occasional weekend blast. I like the idea of a naked to keep the kms in check. Do they have any factory problems or are the a good unit. Thanks

• Like Like x 1
  2. Thanks for moving that champ

3. 1st generation are great 2nd generation are arse including the 07 MY, 3rd generation 2010 MY onwards are top notch.

4. I completely agree with this. The 2nd gen Z wasn't what it should have been...but the 3rd gen is incredible! The only fault I can really give it is that the rear shock is crappy, but that's easily resolved. (And my experience has been that Japanese bikes never have good suspension.)

5. is kawasaki...is good.

• Like Like x 1
  6. Ok, so a suspension tune would be ideal... anything else?

7. Yeah: don't buy a 2007 model.

8. Look for a 3rd generation model. If you get a 2nd generation and spend $$$'s fixing it up you'll have laid out the same money that you would for a 3rd generation anyway. The difference between the two generations is miles apart.
    I had a 2011 MY Z1000 and have tried the 2nd generation - there is no comparison.

9. Looks like a 03-06 MY is on the cards than, haven't got the coin for a 3rd Gen. Anyone got a low km one for sale?

Thanks

10. You can get a 2010 model real cheap.

Infact last year I saw brand new Z1000's going for $15,500 on road.