Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Yet Another 'Which bike for me' Question

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by tyrelever, Feb 7, 2007.

1. Hi Guys,

Ok, im a complete noob just off my L's and am having a bit of a hard time with finding a bike that "fits"

I know there have been a few threads on this topic but im still low on ideas..

I’m 6' 3" and about 110Kg's and all the bikes ive sat on have felt really small and I feel rather crunched up.

Ive been to a few bike places in Dandenong and Ringwood and most of the advice has been to go for the Hyosung GT250R. I’m a bit hesitant in getting a fully faired bike for a starter but I don’t really know what else is out there.
    I would prefer to buy new but will have a look at anything.

Any suggestions for a bike that is high enough other than the Hyosung?

Ah yeah one more question too.... Riding gear, is there any gear out there made for fat bastards? Ive managed to fit into a dririder jacket but its was.. um rather long in the sleeve when it manages to get around my ample energy reserves that is conveniently packaged around my stomach.. :D

Thanks guys,
  2. Get the hyosung gt650r which is learner legal and detune it so you can ride a 650cc "legally" on your L's.

You could get a cruiser or just go to a massive bike store and ask what are the learner legal bikes and sit on them all.

I don't know much about the non faired bikes so i can't help you there.

EDIT: detune it, what was i thinking it is detune, oh well you buy a kit and it takes the restrictions off.
  3. I think Hyosung is the tallest 250 on the market and i thought there was a gt 250 which is the same as the R but without the faring.