Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Featured Yamaha Vstar 650 spluttering & bogging down under load

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by vince650, May 11, 2015.

1. Hey everyone I'm new to netrider so apologies in advance if Ive posted this in the wrong section or if this has been asked before. I own a 650 vstar i got my L's today and took it for a ride. 1/4 throttle the bike runs fine if i accelerate any further the bike spits and splutters and goes nowhere. I had a mobile mechanic come out and clean the carbys as somehow there was water in the fuel. Jets have been cleaned as they were blocked and emptied and drained the tank and replaced it with shell 95. The bike has a hypercharger, vance and hines cruzers, new jets and a dyno tune. As all the work was done by previous owners im not too sure on specifics. If anybody could help me that would be much appreciated. Thankyou in advance.

2. Start by changing the fuel filter and checking/clearing the fuel lines.
    Check/replace the plugs and leads next
    Is there shite in the petrol tank?
    Who did the dyno tune, how long has the bike sat between use etc.?
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Push the choke in. Its under the seat on the left hand side. If not its on the righ hand side.
    • Agree Agree x 1