Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Yamaha Scorpio

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Tubby, Jun 19, 2007.

1. As a beginner, I went and looked at the Yamaha Scorpio yesterday arvo. Im no expert, but this seems to me like a good little bike for a learner/beginner like me to spend some time on.

I am getting this purely for commuting to work and back, and we are talking just over 20k each way including about 3 km of highway (usuaully doing around 80km/h on th highway)

FOr the price, I don't think I could go wrong...

Any thoughts....

2. Hi Aaron,

I'm also a beginner in the process of choosing a first bike, and the Scorpio is factoring into my calculations. I had a bit of a ride of one at the riding school where I did my Ls. It's a cute little bike - comfortable (for me), zippy, handles well. I believe it will run on the smell of an oily rag too. Probably not all that much in the way of power, but I would imagine it would do 80km/hr comfortably enough. Seems like a good choice for city riding, and certainly it's dirt cheap.

There's been a bit of discussion about the Scorpio on Netrider already. See:

Christie :)
  3. If your not going to be doing big highway legs have a look at the CBR125R or maybe even a scooter? The CBR125R would make an excellent commuter and it's cheap. Its the best selling bike in the UK!
  4. Closer match would be the CBF, the CBR may be the same price but compared with the CBF/Scorpio it's got less power and tyres that look like they've been nicked off some kids bicycle.
  5. Scorpio should be a very good bike for you, it is built exactly for this kind of use. And I'm sure it'll cope with 80km/hr!