Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

XVS650A backfiring/popping: An idiots guide.

Discussion in 'Cruisers' started by BrmBrmBrad, Aug 20, 2012.

1. Hello!

I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to all things motorcycle and I'm definitely no mechanic.. so with that, I want to tell you how I - on my very own - fixed my backfiring/popping issue on my 2010 Yamaha XVS650A.

I followed webslinger's guide for a "better AIS disable" which seemed a bit daunting at first because I didn't want to do something to damage my bike like blow it up or whatever.

So if you find that PDF online and follow it, it should be pretty straight forward but I'll just put my notes here:

1) removing the air box is really easy but there's a bit they didn't mention which I guess they just take for granted.. after you remove the 2 screws on the top left and top right of the air box, you then pull the air box towards you from the bottom to pull out a plastic/rubber type plug thing it snaps into.. you'll later push it back in to that plug thing when you put the air box back on.

2) after you pull the air box from the bottom out of the plug thing, it's connected at the top by a elongated plastic air-thingy (I don't know what to call it) which you need to pull DOWN on to remove it completely. There is a screw on the right that can loosen/tighten the bracket which holds the two pieces together so I loosened that (phillips head) first and then wriggled and pulled the air box downwards to remove it completely. I also remembered to tighten it again once I put the air box back on.