Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Would you / do you allow your kids to ride

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by Ghibli, Feb 7, 2007.

1. Hi guys
    I have been thinking about this issue for a while, as I have two little boys and it is only a matter of time before this will become a real headache.

Do you/would you allow your kids to ride a bike when the time comes?
    Would you allow them to get on the road on a bike after all the bike accidents you have had / seen / heard about?

I know that if I say no, they certainly will say "But you ride a bike, so why you can and I can't?" And this fair enough. But I remember when I started riding 29 years ago, my attitude on the road was very different from what it is now, and to tell the truth, I am lucky today to be still in one piece. But not everybody has the same luck.

You may trust your kids completely about anything, but that may still not prevent them from being hit for six by a cager talking on a mobile phone or changing a CD while driving. Once that happens, it is really irrelevant whether you were right or wrong - you just have to cope with the consequences in terms of broken bones, and possible loss of life. :roll:

2. I am not a parent, but i do know my parents (and my father, who is a ex rider) isn't keen for me to continue after what has happened with lenna, but in saying that, he does know why i chose to ride for the time being so yeah if i ever reach that stage i hope i can come to the same reasoning.