Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Would you be faster on a track with a car?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by POPEYE, Oct 25, 2012.

1. I just bought the logitech g27 steering wheel with 6 speed shifter, pedals, & steering wheel PS3 & Gran Turismo 5

wow so cool feels like driving, I am a car racing newb & a track bike new (6x track days at EC 5x on a 250 & 1x on a 600).

so been playing time trial with a suzuki swift at Laguna Seca & managed a time of under 2 minutes in manual with clutch mode in about a couple of hours of playing, ok ok i know its not real, but it aint easy either.

Then it got me thinking, could i manage that time on a bike? well i am a track newb

i was timed (real life) 2.10 at EC old track on my 250 (i know not great)

& saw videos of people doing 2.00 on a Golf GTI

now i am sure i could get close to that in my Golf within a couple of hours of practice...but I am sure it would take alot more track days to get close on the 250

So would you be faster on the track in your car than on your bike?

2. I'm a nanna bike rider, but a very quick car driver.
  3. My car is a 1.6, and the bike a 600, so hell no. But the car does corner bloody well.
  4. Car or bike the biggest limitation is usually fear. A few car shows have done the "set a lap time on a computer game - then set one in the same car in real life" thing. Usually people get nowhere near their virtual time in real life for the simple reason that they're braking earlier, leaving more gap between the car and walls, and find the controls somewhat more difficult when subjected to the various g-forces and suspension bumps.

Professional race drivers set very similar times in reality and simulation, because they're mental.