Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Worryed About My CBR250RR Engine Please Help

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by mattcooper, Dec 7, 2007.

1. Hey Guys
    I am a complete newbie to the bile scene.
    Last week I decided I wanted a bike so I went for my Ls, and the next day Ps, I went to the bike shop and got a CBR250RR. For 3 days I drove it around for about 3 hours each day. I noticed the temp gauge didn’t work. I checked the coolant and there was none! BONE DRY!!!

I am really worried about the bike. I filled it up with a bottle of coolant. But is my bike now damaged? :’(

2. Is the coolant leaking anywhere? Has the coolant level gone down and the oil level up? If the answer's no to both of these, you might be alright. :grin:

PS - We ride bikes. :wink:
  3. Er, yeah that doesn't sound too good mate.

What can happen when there's little or no coolant is that the engine can overheat and warp slightly, at which point the oil and coolant can start leaking into each other. This can end up being bloody expensive.

From memory you can diagnose a buggered head gasket if the coolant starts turning brown and frothy. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong there.

Hope you escape unscathed from this one mate - there might be a coolant leak somewhere, which isn't such a big deal, but 6 hours of doodling around with no coolant at all would absolutely munt the thing.
  4. Don't forget to take it back to the shop where you bought it from and tear them a new a**ehole, too!
  5. Good thanks and you? :grin:

Where did you check the coolant??? It's not unusual for a neglected bike to have zero coolant in the overflow.

By the way, what part of Oz can you get your L's one day and your P's the next as a 20yo??
  6. Hey Guys