Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Work dropped the bombshell

Discussion in 'The Pub' at netrider.net.au started by RRdevil, Jul 2, 2014.

1. So I am very happy I am a qualified train driver as of January this year I completed my traineeship.

News has come through today that trainees signed off after this date are only offered employment until February next year. Some of these guys are my mates and it sickens me to work for a company that could treat fresh keen new drivers this way. (just a note, my employment is safe as I'm on an open ended contract as I was signed off before all this)

This is all due to a downturn in the price of iron ore causing some major changes. My work mainly revolves around general freight trains

2. Hey,

Sad to hear about the new guys but glad to know you are ok.

Reality of course is less stuff moving, less trains a week needed = less drivers needed.

Cheers Jeremy

3. The mining industry can be pretty fickle. Always up and down. I have a mate who works as a diesel mechanic on those massive earth movers. His contracts can end with a weeks notice. Went to one place far north in remote WA and was told his time was up after 2 weeks.

4. True. I'm just frustrated that the company I can work for can treat people this way. Two guys alone have just bought/built houses. Yet there are 65 year old drivers who tout the fact they have $1.6m in savings (not super). Im frustrated that the company can't see the benefit in investing in younger workers rather than the older blokes who are only going to give them another year or two

• Like Like x 1
  5. Yeah another company had a whole train turned around at Tarcoola in SA West before making it to the mine simply because the mine closed and sacked all the workers the day before.