Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Wire Tapping Rear Brake Wire

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Hipster Doofus, Apr 1, 2011.

1. I've got three accessories I want to tap into the system for power when the key is on.
    An oil temp guage, a volt meter & a gear indicator.

I know the volt meter reading will change when the rear brake is applied but at least it will show that it is working OK. (think that's OK)

Will there be any issues tapping the three into the rear brake light wire? I was thinking of joining the three then tapping once into the brake.

Any suggestions on another wire to tap under the tank? Bike is a FI XJR1300.

I chose the brake because I'm a noob at this stuff & that one seems the easiest to get to.

Also would there be any problems with tapping two wires, again joining them & then into an earth? The earth is from a USB charger that is going past where I'll be working.

2. I'm not sure I want to get into this in any detail, because I'm no electrician...

I'm not sure you mean the rear brake light wire, or perhaps the tail light wire? The latter would at least supply power as long as the lights were on, which should be all the time the key is on.

When you talk about a twist and tape join - that should be ok for most things but soldering that joint and insulating would be better. Buying a box of male and female electrical connections of the appropriate size, and a crimping tool ($10 or so) would be an even better and more professional way.