Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Wind buffeting at highway speeds

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Bill M, Apr 5, 2013.

1. Hi all,

I've been riding for near on two months now, I'm out every weekend, and several times mid-week, all for the enjoyment of it (not commuting).

I ride an F650CS which has an upright seating position, and a fairly small windshield. At speeds up to 90kmh the ride is great, but hit 100 or more, and the wind buffeting is immense. I don't get "thrown" around, and the bike runs true and straight, it's just the constant impact on my head and torso - and when travelling distance at those speeds, it takes it's toll.

So questions - Is this normal? I assume so for bikes without big screens.

Should I do something to combat this? Short of lubing myself with vaseline, wearing a swimming cap and hugging the tank, I can't think of too much. Taller wind shield? Or will it be more to do with the style of bike itself?

I've been riding up and around the nearby hills recently, and the rare times I've hit 100 (ahem) have been fun and exciting, and the buffeting lasts only a minute or less until the next bend. But yesterday I rode around the bay, and although I took as many detours as possible, the stretches between the Brisbane Ranges and Geelong, or Shoreham to Springvale Road are just straight highway/freeway runs.

Bottom line is that although I liked the ride in it's totality, the buffeting really took the edge off the day. What can/should I do to combat this?? Or is a matter of harden the f up :D