Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Will a custom paint job decrease the value of my bike??

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by bornlucky88, Sep 11, 2009.

1. Hello all!
    I am new to the bike scene, I am currently riding an 07 GS500. I had a small drop going through a roundabout one early morning and as a result the bike has a 2.5 by 0.5 inch chip out of the paint and graphics on the fuel tank. It can't be patched as the graphics are underneath the clear coat..I have a mate who can respray the whole bike (front gaurd,tank,tail piece) for around $400-700 depending on paint quality, I am looking at pearl. For a new replacement tank from Suzuki it will cost $1000.. I will have the bike for a minimum of 3 years and can get a few simple airbrushed patterns done for $300 on all parts. I am losing sleep over a decision to be made on whether it will be worth respraying the bike.. and if a custom resprayed bike will depreciate much in value to an original!! i would greatly appreciate any word on this matter, Thank You in advance

2. If I run across a second hand bike that has been sprayed I simply presume that it's been pranged and keep looking elseware....
  3. Yes.
  4. Fair bet... couple of specific issues:

1) don't try to convince anyone when selling that it hasn't been dropped - they won't believe you. Most learner bikes get dumped at some stage, so that shouldn't be a huge issue anyway.

2) finding a buyer that has similar enough tastes to you to like whatever graphics you go with might reduce your buyer market.

3) You will NEVER get your money back with a big job like that on what will be a used bike when you sell it. Don't expect to. A GS500 isn't exactly a fashion statement no matter what you do to it.