Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Will a 50cc scooter do the job?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by OutCast, Dec 12, 2006.

1. All,

I thinking about picking up a scooter to get to and from work. I'm Brisbane based on the nth side. To get to work in Milton i need to travel under 10kms but its over Ashgrove and there are a few hills.

I've got no rider experience although I'm sure it does not compare I've spent a lot of time on push bikes.

Basically, I am off the opinion that a 50cc wont do the job as I'm 6 feet (180cms) and about 90kgs.

I am interested in your thoughts and opinions.

2. First of all, welcome to Netrider, check out the new decor (shiny new server 'n stuff) and make yourself at home :).

Now, what I'd do, if I knew that route reasonably well, would be to watch out for any scooters riding, it, see if you can get the rider's attention and discuss it with him/her. Someone else's experience will tell you more than a ton of our theorising....

(That said, I think a 50 would struggle in the scenario you describe...)
  3. I would go for at least 100cc if the speed limit is only 60 km/h or 200cc if the speed limit goes up to 90km/h. The 50cc will struggle to get to 60km/k up any sort of hill and you will put yourself and other drivers in danger by not being able to keep up witht the traffic.

I am about the same weight as you (a bit taller though) and found that my last ride which was a scoot (Aprilia SportCity) was fine up to 100km/h.

Hope this helps,
  4. The above is not to be taken lightly. A 50cc scooter is a great way to get around a CBD, or to pop down to the corner deli for a pie and coffee chill, but I honestly wouldn't take it anywhere else.