Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Why so many model names?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by sonicbaz, Feb 14, 2006.

1. Hi, I like to think I'm not a complete "idjit" but why for the love of god are there so many different bike models, VTR, ZZR, GPX, etc then all the different sizes....what do all the names mean, what's the reasoning, I don't understand .....is it just me....er yes it usually is....sorry a complete noob question I'll regret asking later.

:p

(ok I do understand engine sizes but why have a 500 then a 650 then a 750 ....... aghhhh) :shock:

2. If holden called every car the commodore, how would you tell them apart?

Justin.

3. I like a couple of Honda's acronyms for models, such as VTR (V Twin ..), VFR (V Four ..), not sure what the R would stand for other than the obvious. I'm not sure those are really even right but they seem to make sense, dunno what CBR would stand for then?

4. Cant Bloody Ride?

:p :p :p :p

i like justins explaination. short and to the point, you have to tell different models apart somehow dont you?

5. as for different sizes/shapes/abilities, you'll find the biking community, though not as large as the caging community, is a LOT more diverse in tastes and a lot more finniky about getting the right thing. all the different sizes and shapes, brands and models, are all there to cater for us riders that always seem to like something just a little different from everyone else. unlike cagers, we're not all content to stick some fluffy dice on the motorcycle equivelent of a crummydore/commondore/crappydore and call it our own :wink:

plus it makes choosing the next bike a bucketload of fun :twisted:

and it confuses the bejeezuz out of newbies :p :p