Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Why ride with one hand?!?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by dje, Feb 6, 2006.

1. Just wondering why riders (paticulary sports bike riders) often rest there (left) hand on their (left) hip and ride one handed when riding near or after passing other bikes... (especially when passing 250's)?
    Is it to proove they can ride with one hand? Is it supposed to be cool?

3 bikes passed me the other day down kings way (Vic) and as they passed, within 20 seconds they all (sequentially) put their hand on their hip (as if following eachother).
    Everytime I see this kind of thing I (and my mates) just have to laugh.

Ive been riding for almost 6 years and i see this all the time...

So... anyone know why people do this?
  2. I do it too rest my left hand, cos you can't exactly take your right hand off and hold your speed unless you have some sort of throttle lock...
    Also can sit up a bit straighter, just gives a bit of relief after a long ride.
  3. personally I do it cos my left hand cramps from the clutch. I dont usually put it on my hjip, thats a bit camp :p I rest it on the tank, my leg... stretch it.
  4. very valid point, i do that too... I just find it amusing seeing a group of riders do it together, usually after they overtake then sit in front me, then do it...
  5. :LOL: Yep I'm guilty of this (and I ride a 250) for the sole reason that my hand/arm gets sore after a while - never has anything to do with whether other bikes are around. The right hand side I can rest when stopped at an intersection but since I usually leave the bike in gear when stopped the only time my left hand gets a break is when I'm cruising at steady speed.