Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Why ride a 250?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by nikku, May 22, 2006.

1. First of all, hi everyone! - I'm a newbie and I just posted in the New Rider's forum too, but thought this was a more general question.

Why ride a 250? Some people have to because of their licence - do other people choose to?

For instance, I'm about to buy a 250 with the intent of learning on it. And, by "learning", I don't just mean "passing my test" - I mean "learning to become a skilled rider, if necessary even after I have my licence".
    I figure a small bike will be best to learn on, even though with Q-RIDE and my age I believe I can learn on a larger bike.

But what about after I've learnt to ride well? Is there any reason to keep a 250 beyond that?
    I sort of imagine I would enjoy a smaller bike. For example, I prefer smaller cars because I feel more "in touch" with the drive, closer (metaphorically, not just literally! :p) to the road.
    Am I likely to enjoy a smaller bike for the same reasons?

What about other reasons? Fuel economy? Responsive handling? Insurance?
    I hear so many people saying "just wait until you have your open licence, you'll never want to ride a 250 again!". Is that really true?

Personally, I'm trying to decide how much to invest in my first bike, but this is somewhat rhetorical since I'm just about to get a Yamaha Zeal. I'll be mostly doing short commutes; weekly 50km highway trips to the beach;, and the occasional 300km trip.

I'm mostly curious about people's thoughts in general though! :)

2. Your insurance will be cheaper on a smaller capacity bike.