Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Why do bike boots look weird?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by ryanwalrus, Mar 28, 2014.

1. #1 ryanwalrus, Mar 28, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2014
    Being a noob I have the potential to make myself look stoopid at any given moment, so I don't need any help from odd looking boots.

Is it just me?

At the moment I'm just using my trusty DM's that are approx 20 years old now but do the job fine.

However I think something specific would be wise? But I want to be able to go for a coffee and not look like a dick head!

<mod-edit> Read forum descriptions before creating threads.
    Correct forum: Riding Gear & Bike Accessories
  2. You don't need to wear race replica boots. There are plenty of 'touring boots' and 'urban boots'.
  3. #3 JJFAST, Mar 28, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2014
    The boots you wear are specific to what you want.
    You can go black casual, full race replica, touring waterproof boots, summer boots, normal boots etc

The real reason you think that race replica boots look like they are for dickheads as you say, is that they have things like heel protection and other features to prevent overextension of the ankle joint and basically look like that to give you full protection, while still being comfortable.

The problem with normal boots is that they are too thick across the toes, so changing gears is unnecessarily difficult, whereas stupid looking boots are extremely comfortable and offer the best protection when riding. The main drawback being having to walk like a robot and large logos. Though over time, you get used to walking in them without being able to bend the ankle much.