Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Featured Why aren't hazard lights on all bikes?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Minority153, May 21, 2015.

1. Just a general question.

So as most of you know, I'm still a newbie to riding. But when I had a stationary fall the other week and I couldn't pick it up myself, I realised I didn't have any hazard lights on my bike.

Which I personally found a bit more odd, because wouldn't motorcycles have even more reason to need hazard lights for when they've fall, they can't figure out why they can't start the bike, stalling at the lights, indicating to other vehicles to overtake you, stopping to pull a bug off your visor, etc.

So why aren't hazard lights standard?

I know that some bikes have hazard lights, but they only seem to be the massive engine tourers that cost a ridiculous amount of $$$$

Anyway, just curious. Thanks for the replies in advance. :)

2. Hi Minority153Minority153, I ride Honda CBR500RA and it has hazard lights, on the right binnacle just under the kill switch, same as CB125 I rode at Stay Upright. I'm not sure about other bikes, but was under impression that it was a standard feature on all road bikes. But being very new to riding myself, I might be wrong...
  3. Fallen - put your indicators on
    No start - why are you on the road?
    Stalled - don't faff about and start the damn thing
    Indicate for others to overtake - use hand signals
    Stopped to clean visor- don't stop where someone can hit you

Bikes can be moved off the road when broken down with relative ease, cars/trucks can't. And the rider can perform hand signals.
  4. I don't know... But I don't use the (quite rubbish)horn much either, cost cutting on semi-redundant features?