Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Who said an aircraft can't (almost) stop on a dime...

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Nickers330, Jun 5, 2011.

1. #1 Nickers330, Jun 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2015
    The MOST impressive 'Go-around' I have seen yet !

Makes you wonder what the outcome would have been had his arrestor-hook been a little lower 8-[
  2. I love JATO:

3. #4 TheForgotten, Jun 5, 2011
    i wanna see you do that in your air-taxi
    but seriously, that's pretty fkn intense
  4. Let's see an F-18 do that. :)
  5. that's GOT to be deliberate, surely :shock:
  6. #7 cejay, Jun 5, 2011
    Can't compete with the Russian, but when I worked for the MOD in the UK when I was an apprentice, we used to fly in converted passenger jets that never had more than a handful of people on them and moderate test equipment. A plane with power to lift 200 people, their luggage and enough fuel to fly to Tenerife takes off and lands really quick when it has almost no passengers, no luggage and the fuel it needs for the test flight!
  7. I gotta admit, I thought the landing in the Canadian bush pilot video Twainharte posted was pretty impressive. (I wonder how many knots the head wind was?) I've never seen anything where anyone in a tail wheel has jumped on the brakes like that and had it balancing on the main undercarriage. Top vid!
  8. Guys, those vids above were IMPRESSIVE !!!