Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Who has ever held on to the 250cc after gaining unrestricted

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Bigchief, Jan 2, 2008.

1. I'm a newbie to motorbikes and own a 2006 Honda VTR250 after gaining my L's in Nov. '07.

I was wondering, who has ever hung on to their 250 after gaining their full license? Or has just about everyone upgraded to something bigger and better?
  2. I still have my 250 trail bike. For trails, plus the Girlie is getting plenty of practice time on it before she gets on something bigger.
  3. There is no need for people to 'go for a bigger bike' just because they have a full licence. Riding is about the enjoyment and freedom of experiencing your limits and the experience.
    Some can do this on a scooter.
    If your ambition is to do track racing etc. Then many move on to the bigger toys.
    Depends on your goals and budget!
  4. Most do upgrade. There are some learner legal bikes that very well could be all you need. Eg. gt650r - could get it derestricted and then its full power. Or rvf/vfr/zxr400, etc. which are total weapons in the right hands.

I'm on a 650 vtwin now and its cheap to own and run. But once I upgrade to something more expensive and less practical (eg. zx6r), I'll buy a gpx or vtr250 for commuting.
  5. Oh don't get me wrong, I love my VTR250 and plan to hang on to it for quite some time. I was just really wondering...

I'm just loving the freedom of the bike and the experience of the ride. I'm also quite happy and intent on arriving home to my wife and two adorable girls in one piece :grin: ...so for now my 250 is quite adequate.

I was just wondering what people do or did in general.