Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

White smoke

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Saxon, Mar 21, 2005.

1. I have a 1983 interstate goldwing that is blowing white smoke, this smoke also smells like fuel and is leaving a residue on the floor behind the exhaust. The bike starts fine but after 5 mins it is really smokey and uses alot of fuel. I thought that the bike is running rich, I havn't used for awhile as I have been in hospital for 6 months. If it is running rich how do I correct it. Thanks for any advice.

2. I'm no mechanic, but back with my rustbucket 86 magna, white smoke == water getting into the engine. Blown gasket maybe. Also, white smoke also meant very very bad, need new engine. I dunno how it is with bikes though.

3. White smoke denotes water in the fuel.
    Could be a blown head gasket if it is water cooled or the petrol has got water in the tank.
    first solution is a cupful of metho in the tank to displace the water.
    Then go from there.

4. Is it white or is it grey?
    If White then yes you have water coming out of the exhaust, if it's grey then you are burning oil.

I suspect it is oil as you say there is a residue on the floor.

Usualy means that the piston rings are gone and/or valve stem steals. A compression test will reveal all.