Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Whirring Noise

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by RobE, Jan 4, 2008.

1. I always feel a dill trying to explain a mechanical noise, but here I go again.

1995 CB 250, done 75,000. Seems to run fine and nearly always does what she is told.

We have not travelled all that far together so I am still learning her little ways.

Just running normally on the road I become conscious of an engine rev related whirring noise. Sort of like that sound you associate with a shaft drive.

The chain seems properly adjusted.

I like to know what my machines are trying to telling me. Any suggestions?
  2. Are you sure its an engine rev related whirring or could it be speed related?
  3. Could be speed related. I am only conscious of it when we are moving.

Maybe on a downhill I should try putting the clutch in or even finding neutral when I get a big piece of open road to myself?

(If I do shift to neutral I better remember to go back to the top of the gears after. I already had a tiny thrill from shifting down too hard too fast and feeling the back wheel step out while the bike yelled at me not to do it again.)
  4. A tight chain will create a loud whirring noise, which increases in intensity and frequency (pitch) according to road speed, rather than engine revs.

Check the chain slack at the tightest point on the chain. Anything else and you will end up with a tight chain, which actually gets tighter as it gets hotter...

Trevor G

PS Chain slack should probably be between 30 and 40 mm. Slack, versus play. If not sure of the difference, ask. :)
  5. wats the diff trev? :grin:

and dont go telling what a differential is :p
  6. ooooh!
    explain that one :grin: