Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

While in the corner I buckle .. Wat do?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by squidman, Aug 31, 2011.

1. Hey I just started riding for roughly a week now, riding in traffic with no problems, always giving my self space incase the person infront suddenly stops and all the rest of it, but while in a corner if i seee that im going to go over a small/medium pothole on the road i buckle and go straight back up .. would anything happen if i go over the pothole while im in the lean, like the front wheel sliding out and i go sliding? lol

I live in Mt Druitt so the roads here are shit, srs

Also any cornering tips for the noobie is apreciated!

2. on a lean, avoid loose crap like gravel, general litter that might have your wheel slide out from under you, pot holes? fark avoid them too!!
  3. You need to start learning how to open your line or close it down tighter when required. There will often be occasions when there will be something on the optimum cornering line that you will need to avoid. Learn to pick up and go outside it or tuck in tighter and go under it.

If you can't avoid it then the more upright the better travel you will have in your suspension.

If you haven't read Rob's Cornering threads then spend some time and do so, as your experience increases you will have more options at your command. :) Good Luck.
  4. Oi! Don't scare the $h!t out of him while he's new to learning.! :)

1) There are multiple threads on this forum that are fantastic re: learning how to corner: -
    The Noob 101 - Noob 104 are PERFECT for learning the subtle art of cornering