Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

which state in Aus has most riders???no guesses only if u no

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by sydney_skyhigh, Jul 16, 2007.

1. Hi guys Im a newbie here which state in Australia has the most riders does any one actually know with out guessing cheers

2. if you want riders (as in actually have and ride a bike) - no one will actually know.

As for registrations and licenses, it is split fairly evenly between victoria and nsw (26% of total licenses for each state according to the statistics in another thread).
  3. riders?

ok then cool do u have the link for that thread ?
  4. Seem to remember some mention somewhere that as far as number of bikes sold/population goes WA actually ranks the highest - most likely down to the large number of mine workers with plenty of cash to spend on a dirt and/or road bike.
  5. ?

interesting those mine workers i heard are making killing out there
  6. Yep, and yet the mines are still struggling to find people for even the simplest of jobs. Was reading one of the mining mags recently though and it had an article on how sales of things like plasma tvs, motorcycles, jetskis, boats, luxury/sports cars etc have gone through the roof in WA over the past few years due to the fact that even tradies are earning well over 100k a year in the mines (ie it's the classic "cashed up bogan" effect).
  7. Thanks to TonyE from the footpath parking thread

From ATSB figures.

2000-2006 average % of total national registration of motorcycles for each state.

NSW 26%

Vic 26%

Qld 24%

SA 7%

WA 13%

TAS 2%

NT 3%

ACT 1%