Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

which first bike? NSR150-SP or ZZ-R250

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by NSRfreak, Feb 10, 2009.

1. Hi,

I'm going for my bike L's soon and wanting your thoughts on a suitable first bike. I have no experience AT ALL with motorbikes.

The two bikes i like are the NSR150-SP and the Kawasaki ZZ-R250.

Leaning more towards the NSR but worried about it being a 2-stroke. I've read alot of reports about seizing engines and having to rebuild every 20,000km's etc. If i buy one that has around 20,000k's on it that hasn't been rebuilt will i run the risk of getting a seized engine while riding it?

Please share your thoughts/recommendations.

2. NSR is not lams approved from memory.

3. If you have no experience with bikes then a ZZR is a far smarter option than a 2-stroke made cheap in Thailand.

4. I feel like i'm pretty set on getting an NSR150. Would like to hear from other 2-stroke owners about reliability and how often to rebuild etc.

5.  Top
  6. If you're set on getting one then why ask for peoples opinions? :?

If you used the search function instead of being so lazy and getting the rest of us to do the work for you, you'd find that there are about a gazillion threads on here about NSR150's and 2 strokes in general.

Do a search.

7. Oh in that case they are the fooly sikest bikes ever and will totally smoke any 250 on the road with rebuilds/decarbonising just things you let the next owner worry about. Anyone who doesn't buy one as a first bike is an idiot.

There, happy now?

8. Buy whatever you like.
    But I know which one is faster, cheaper to maintain, cheaper to insure, easier to learn on, easier to live with, handles cross winds better. :wink: