Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Which bike stand...

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by Shori, May 1, 2012.

1. Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy a bike stand, but not sure what's the best one to buy for minimal maintenance work on my bike. After reading on this forum bit, looks like the Kaneg stands seems to be reasonable and decent quality.

I'm still fairly new to motorbike maintenance. Shall I just be getting a rear stand or shall I get the front one too?

Just some details that might help you guys recommend:

- I currently have a Street Triple R. But, plan to change to KTM 990T soon. Does this matter?
    - General cleaning.
    - Chain maintenance
    - Oil change

Paddock stand or a Swing arm stand...?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

2. I recently bought an ebay rear paddock stand that I use for chain cleaning etc.
    It's from third gear and although I've only used it for around 4 weeks it seems perfectly fine. Cheap too.
  3. I thought paddock and swing arm stands were the same. Other names for rear wheel stands. Ehhhh I dunno.
    Anyway I've heard good things about the Kaneg, Anderson and Oxford stands. Don't go the RJays hunk of junk I got. Let us know what you end up with and how good it is.

Also one of those stands will be fine for what you plan to do (unless you have some outlandish definition of "general cleaning").
  4. Anderson are of good quality, but they are on the more expensive side. Kaneg should be good enough IMO. I have a Kaneg front stand...it does the job just fine. The Kaneg one however has already got some surface rust at the welding joints after 2 years. My Anderson rear stand (single sided swing arm) doesn't have any rust...and it is older than the Kaneg one by at least 3 years.