Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Which bike should I buy? (absolute newbie)

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Ckramer, Jan 3, 2008.

1. No previous bike experience. Only some basic rides.
    I want a bike to ride around Sydney metro area.
    Mostly roads, occasionally motorways.

I just need a "regular" bike.

I don't want scooter because it's too small, slow and scary on motorway.
    Don't need super-power and super-speed so no Superbike or cruiser for me.
    I guess what I need is Classic or Sport category.

I need something economical. This mean I should look at engine less than 1000cc ?
    I don't know anything about engines, mechanics. Don't want to be stuck on the road with something malfunctioning. New bike is preferred for me? Or 5 years used will be ok?

I am tall, 190cm so I need something large. Not athletic, afraid I will be crushed under heavy bike.

Any ideas? Something like Yamaha XVS650 ?
  2. Hey, welcome.

No bike experience? You'll be on Ls I assume then? You're restricted to under 660cc and under 150kw/tonne, see here for the non 250cc ones you can ride (you can ride any 250cc apart from about 5):

If you're going to get into bikes you will learn about some mechanics, even if its just how to change oil, plugs, air filter, adjust and lube chain, etc.

If you're keen on highway kms, I'd get one of the 500cc and upwards bikes, check out GS500f. Its upright and comfortable and wont be so annoyed at you for taking it on the highway.