Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Which 50cc scooter to should I buy?

Discussion in 'Scooters' started by ALEXMORGAN, Mar 18, 2009.

1. Good day people,

I am an international student with full driver's license hence I am planning on buying a 50cc scooter to travel from my home to the city for classes and also to explore new places.

I am just wondering what are the best and the most recommended scooters in the 50cc class in terms of speed and handling? And what exactly is the top speed of a 50cc scooter?

And also is it advisable to travel long distance with a 50cc scooter? As I am thinking to use the scooter to explore the countryside and what not.

Thank you in advance for your help.
  2. I just sold my TGB 101s. Myself and three mates decided to buy them about 6 months ago.

We did our research into various models, and at only $2,300 new they were a steal. They also have a very "grabby" clutch so are quick off the line, and are one of the quickest 50cc's around. Good ground clearance so kerb hopping, not an issue.
    I just sold mine with 2,600 on the clock for $1,500.

Literally nothing came close for price/features, and there was a 3 year warranty. All the features, injected 2-stroke, disc brake, electric + kick start, etc.

Top speed for me, weighing about 80kg, was 70kph. Got up to 60kph easily. Note, they are legally "Restricted" to 55kph, but like anything theres easy ways around this.

Long distance? My mates and I used to travel 120km round trips easily. Scooters tend to be very comfortable, but i wouldnt suggest any travel on roads with a speed limit greater than 60, and they aren't made for the twistys. Although, yes, they do hammer, its hard to drag a rail on a scooter as they are so light, the slightest bump gets you airborne.