Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Where's the nod?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by kinch, Aug 22, 2008.

1. When I started riding on the road, one of the first things I noticed was all the nods I was getting from other riders as they passed me. This was cool and made me feel like I've been inducted into some kind of cool secret society with a secret handshake (well... not secret, and just a nod, but you know what I mean). So I started doing the same to other riders I saw, just giving them a simple nod as I pass them... and lately no one has nodded back, and if I don't nod, they don't nod either! I feel like I've been thrown out of that secret society and I don't know why :(

2. :eek:hno: ...brace yourself for the onslaught Kinch... :eek:hno:
  3. :popcorn: Heeeee're weee goooooooo. :)
  4. Nodding momentarily decreases the aerodynamics of a motorcycle and rider; reducing fuel efficiency.

Petrol is very expensive these days, so people have to be more careful with their nods.
    Can't just go around nodding all willy-nilly like. It's economically unsound.
  5. There've been a million threads on this, but what the heck, there's always comedy value in taking another swing at the dead horse.

I just nod to everyone, including scooter riders, cruiser riders, cops and posties. If they nod back, great, if they don't great. No need to assume the worst - they might just be an uninitiated noob, they might not have seen you, might have been focused on something else, might have been in a world of their own. But the nod does, IMO, increase the sum of camaraderie between riders, and is therefore worthwhile in itself.