Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Where to go from my CB250? Help

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Wet crutch, Aug 11, 2006.

1. I've been riding my '99 CB250 for more than 12 months now and accumulated 6000 kms. Even the dealer warned me I would get bored with it, but did I listen.

So now I'm considering my next move.
    (1) New Hyosung 650 naked $9K.
    (2) '98 SV650, 51,000Kms $4K
    (3) 1-3 yr old GSXF750 <$10K
    (4) coworkers VFR800 ~$10K
    (5) coworkers CB900

I ride less than 30 km per day.
    I love lane splitting.
    I'm 5'10"
    Would take occasionally to the 'gong on weekends.
    I have proven my mechanical abilities to be poor but consistent.
    I love the reliability of the CB250, and she has taken some abuse well.

I've had some trouble with the front suspension and head bearings so I'm a little shy of second hand bikes that are out of warranty.

I really need some help from the experienced few to help me understand which bike will carry me through the next 4-5 years.

Any information or advice is appreciated.

2. Please tell me your nick is really meant to be 'wet clutch', but you are Japanese.
  3. I've found the CB900 to be fantastic, and believe me it takes some abuse.

I'd add to that that the bar-mounted mirrors on it make splitting a joy, and whenever I ride a faired bike with fairing-mounted mirrors and I can't move them with the bars, I gotta slow my splitting down.

As for the others, IMO:

Hyosung - forget it, they're 5-10 years off being a worthwhile buy, there's all sorts of scary quality issues.

SV650 - Great bike, good price, worth a closer look.

GSXF750 - bulky, ugly and underpowered. Not that I've ridden one.

VFR800 - Great bike, difficult and expensive to work on though.