Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

where to get a kawasaki zzroil filter in wollogong or sydney

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by ericgao, Apr 6, 2006.

1. HI, all. I am a newbie, just got my zzr 250 a month ago. I found the oil is really dark and overfilled. I want to chane oil and filter by myself. Do you guys know where to shop around to get this? Do i need a special tool to untighten the bolt? thanks

2. Any bike shop should have an aftermarket one to suit. Find the local kwaka dealer for OEM.
    They are about $15

No special tool, just a socket. Its as simple as bike filter changes get (some are a real pain) just drain the oil then unscrew the oilfilter chamber and replace the element (dont throw away the metal cap and washer that will be on the old filter)

Dont use too much force when tightning back up, just 1/4 turn or so.

Yank based GPX and ZZR site.
  3. thanks, jmuzz. the website is really helpful. I gonna do it nextweek
  4. As I discovered when changing the oil on Lin's ZZR 250...believe it or not the kawasaki oil filters are actually made by Honda...long story there, just trust me on it.

The rubber washer that installs with the oil filter may not be an exact fit. It has to go in just so.
    Lin's leaked until my mate at a bike shop re-installed it in just the right postion.

If you are re-installing the old rubber washer, one side will be flat and one side rounder, take note of this and put it back in the way you took it out.

Sydney City Motorcycles at Ramsgate/Kogarah has the filters in stock.

Because it's a high revving motor and not a huge engine I used Shell Ultra Helix Fully Synthetic Oil.
    It's $60 for 6 litres at K-Mart.