Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Where to buy gear

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by aroberts1979, Mar 23, 2011.

1. Hi guys,

Where's the cheapest place to buy riding gear?

Does textile offer protection as well as leather would?

Is it advisable to wear special boots or are trainers sufficient?

Sorry for all the questions! I'm a newbie
  2. Buy decent boots - preferable ones that protect ankles - if you want to keep your foot that is. (had a small off in plain leather casuals, lets just say i learn't my lesson as my right leg was pinned under the bike as i slid on the road. Knee and ankle taking the brunt, shoes did nothing) - now wear boots that go above ankles.

Luckily my right hand only had minor grazing, dunno how, BUY gloves! - i dont leave without them.

I had a textile jacket. Saved half my body - textile or leather of any decent brand will protect at normal around town riding. Full leather if you think your Stoner.

With Jacket's you can try on and buy online from reputable sellers (its cheaper).

Pants i always buy in Aus as pants sizes could vary more. Draggin jeans or similar as a bare minimum, textiles, and leather are all good. Leather stretches, so don't be afraid to go tight.

Helmets need to comply to Aus Standards for them to be Road legal, so don't pay $100-$600 for an overseas noncompliance helmet.
    Heaps of thread on here about it.
  3. Where are you from? Can't really give you an idea of where to buy stuff if we don't know where you live. :)