Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Where or where are the big open spaces?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Samhain, Jul 16, 2008.

1. Hey all,

I'm a newb - got my L's not so long agao and have already managed to write off a bike due to a low(ish) speed collision with a corner curb....

I should have my new bike in a week and I think my back will be healed up by then (2x fractured verts) so am keen to get back to it... though rather than jump out on the road and try to dodge curbs all day, I would prefer to get the leaning pracice in on some open tarmac...

I am very confident and consider myself capable in traffic and lower speed maneuvering etc, though as soon as I need to lean the bike in, I find my line drifts.... so that;s what I want to practice... oh and not fixating on the curb when I realise I am getting close :(

So, am wondering if anyone here in Melb knows of any big open expanses of tarmac, such as a shopping centre carpark without bumps and traffic lisalds etc, where I could praxcice leaning in with all the run off space in the world?

Thanks in advance for your help! :)

2. HART in tullamarine. pay for a practice session and use their bike

3. Look where you want to go not where you shouldn't!

The bike will go where you're looking. There's lots of info on cornering on the web and Netrider. First thing you should be doing is some research and reading.

Practise on a push bike if you have to (you have ridden one before haven't you?) on some quiet streets and empty shopping centres to get the hang of it.

A motorbike is heavier so you also need to apply more countersteer, but the theory is basically the same.