Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Where does my pipe go? (pics)

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by joomi, Jun 2, 2007.

1. OK- no smartass remarks please. :p

I'm new to this bike game so excuse me if this is a stupid question.

After a long ride today I return home and notice that there is this open ended pipe which originates from somewhere up under the fuel tank and just kind of hangs down between the rear spring and chain (I moved it out in the photo for a better shot). Now the thing is that I had a major service done last week and I know that this pipe was not like this before the service. Is this pipe supposed to be there? What is it's purpose?

Another probably unrelated problem is that it now idles very low and sometimes cuts out when I stop at lights, even when the engine is warm (after more than 20 minutes of riding).

I plan on taking it back to the shop on monday but thought I might get some opinions before I have to book it in again and waste more time (without my bike).

Any advice is much appreciated.

2. Lol! Looks like a fuel breather thingymabob. If its just that then it doesn't have to go anywhere special, just as long as its out of the way. Mine just sits under my seat and goes along towards the middle/back of the bike a bit.
  3. Possibly an overflow hose from the fuel filler, but usually those are smaller gauge. Given the poor idle, I suspect it may be a vacuum line causing an air leak, hence the stall/rough idle
  4. Cheers guys.