Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

When work is running your life..

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Blue14, Feb 1, 2007.

1. I will admit i am a manager, but its become apparent that work is just controlling what i do and how i feel. My days can sometimes be a normal 9 hr day and then there are the real manager days, 11 - 12 hrs. And even when i am at home i am finding myself continually thinking about work. How many of you have this same issue, and besides riding what other things do you do to take it off your mind.

2. Internet Forums :p

Seriously though, it's no fun sacrificing too much for your job. I've never seen any job titles on tombstones or heard any Eulogys detailing how many hours of unpaid overtime someone did.

It's all about balance and finding something to even out the troughs of work. Sure do the 11-12 hour days, but try and do something for those special in your life by leaving early another day.

Apart from bike riding, find another hobby, something you've always wanted to do but never got around to it.
  3. Man you sound tragic.

I think you need a good r()()t :grin:

I too am a manager and manage 6 staff members, once I'm home, the "off" switch comes on and I think of Fleur for the rest of the day ;)

I do other things like, moderate this, answer the "I can't log in" emails, make some jigsaws/mugs, feed and watch my fish and now I jump on the push bike and go for a peddle.
  4. So you got no woman? :shock:

Daaam.. :(

5. Blue, welcome to my olde world, I've just had almost 10 weeks off with a health issue, one serious enough to make me reconsider my lifestyle and my work ethic.