Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

When to take in for a service?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by geckom, Mar 23, 2011.

1. I recently bought a 2007 Honda CBF250 with 10,500km on the clock. I have been riding it every chance I get for the last 2 months and it is now at 12,000kms. It had a very good service when I got it at 10,500 but is ment to be serviced at 12,000(according to the user manual). Should I take it in for a service now or try for another 1,000-2,000kms?

Basically should I try to get the services back in line with the instructions in the manual, or should I just do them every 4,000kms as per their instructions.

2. Personally I would try and get it back on track with the service manual so you know what needs to be replaced when and so on.

You could probably just take it in for a check up and make sure everything is running well, at the very least maybe an oil change, and then run it out to your next service book service.

My $0.02.

3. If you are riding regularly wait until 18K Km for the next service. If you are 100% the service was done at 10.5K Km.
    K

4. haha so one for each, still cant decide. Might see how much its gonna cost for a service at team moto enoggera.

5. If you love your bike and don't want to chance reliability, then every 6,000km or 6 months. Which ever comes first !!!
    That's for your minor services. Oil, filter change and fluids check.