Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

When it just 'clicks' *snaps fingers*

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by dangerous_daveo, Jul 20, 2010.

1. Hi all, just a quick motivational post!

I've been riding for near on 18 months now, so not long. Really haven't had the bike time I've been after, work, other work, moving, stuff so I don't have to do work anymore, weather etc kept getting in the way. Maybe covered 4000kms on the VTR250, and just cracked the 2500kms on the STR.

Anyway, had a couple of slight falls on the VTR, and near on dropped the STR within the first week (they really have a turning circle of a large car at walking pace! Caught me out, wedged body under bike). Confidence was not the best! Plus I'm a part time defensive driving instructor, so I know how bad some drivers really are! So there is the background so people can relate.

Anyway, at last work freed up a little, the sunshine state started to live up to its name. I've managed to ride in to work 3 or so days a week, that has been helping heaps with the low speed confidence stuff. Then weekends I've been making sure to get to some twisties, even if its just Mt Coot-tha or some back roads out Mt Cotton way. Also driven Nebo a few times in the car over the past 2 months (gf wanted to come along). Anyway, went up Nebo 2 weekends ago, felt a little better, nothing major. Then went up again weekend just gone. First 10-15mins were a little sketchy in places, fortunately no cars or other bikes around, so it didn't worry me slowing down a little and collecting my thoughts. Felt good after that. Came across some cars, the pulled over the instant they saw me to get past, thinking at this point, can the day get better!