Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

When is downshifting appropriate?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by 5hfifty, Oct 2, 2007.

1. I am completely new to riding, all I've done so far is Qride on Saturday and some quick rides around the block, and I'm wondering when you should downshift? Everytime you slow down (corners etc) or are there exceptions?

I see some riders do it, and others just disengage the clutch and click all the way down to first when coming to a stop at the lights. it seems to be rider prefrence, but downshifting in the car all the time, it just seems the better way to ride to me.

Also when during the downshift should you blip the throttle?? Thanks for any help regarding this!

- Simon :grin:

2. There is your answer.

3. Do what feels natural; the idea is to be in gear for acceleration at your given speed, and/or to engine brake :) Definitely blip the throttle, and let the clutch out smoothly...while you're still getting used to a given bike, stick to one gear down at a time when doing it to increase revs for acceleration, to avoid compression lockup. Don't shift gears while cornering.
  4. What I tend to do when approaching a red light is just shift down one by one and use engine brake. If there's not a lot of traffic I dont even have to touch the front brake. I just hold the back brake and just keep shifting down.

For corners I would pretty much shift down to the gear that is right for the corner(shift one by one till the right speed). I would generally try and get in to a gear which is in mid-low end of the power band of my bike when entering the corner. This will ensure that I can accelerate fast out of the corner, but this is probably for later when you get more used to the bike...