Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

When does the madness stop?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by DuaneDibbley, Mar 29, 2012.

1. How long does it take before you stop treating every set of traffic lights like the start at PI? Until you're happy to just cruise to work on the bike and not seek out the curviest route there and have some fun (within reasonableness - not batshit insane)?

I started riding just shy of 12 months ago and despite it being a little too small for my 192cm and 105kg frame I love every second on my CB400. It's faster than the SSV Commodore I had before it (at same speeds) and a metric buttload faster than the Swift I drive now when I have to carry gear/the girlfriend. I still try to strange the throttle to death and don't hang on enough with my legs but I'm getting there.

I'm not worried about my safety, I'm fairly responsible most of the time and I feel I'm riding to within my personal abilities and not recklessly (not even a stationary drop to report so far). But it would be nice to progress to a point where I can relax and not be in 'race' all the time.

I guess the main point of this post is the question:

Does the novelty ever wear off? Or is that the appeal of motorcycling; the never ending ability to just feel a little bit childish? Oh, and the noise!
  2. Taking off fast to get ahead of the traffic seems like a sensible thing to do. Wonder if the cops would get you for 'excessive acceleration' though.
  3. Everyday is raceday.
  4. Get back to me when you high side at over 100kmph
  5. Hopefully we'll avoid that for a while...
  6. No idea, but I'm only coming up to 2 years. I think the problem is endemic to the CB400 ;)
  7. reporting - problem still persists on an r6... gives me shivers every time