Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

When do you filter?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by dcart3r, Feb 12, 2008.

?
  1. All the time, no matter what the traffic is like or what road I'm on.

100.0%
  2. Only when I'm familiar with the road/intersection or in light traffic.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. I don't filter, it's illegal! (Or I'm still a newb).

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Had my first filter this morning (where Epsom Rd meets Botany Rd in Beaconsfield) and it got me thinking about what conditions people filter under. For me, it was on a road I'm familiar with, at an intersection I know and in relatively light traffic and good weather. As I gain confidence, I'm sure I'll be filtering through all types of traffic on all types of roads, but for now, this type of situation is a start.

So under what conditions do you filter?

2. When I can't be arsed sitting in the queue.

I think your Poll needs work mate... :LOL:

EDIT: That's better :)

3. all the time, on roads i know and the ones i don't know, i apply the same rules as overtaking, if i consider it safe i will do so. :cool:

4. Only filter when I have to. But before commencing do the required headchecks.

5. dcart3r that is a good way to start. When you are getting used to something new, you minimise the number of veriables you have to deal with until you are comfortable.

6. how about a 'when I feel like it' option?

7. When there's room.

8. Haven't done it yet. Still learning (too much of a wuss). Is it illegal? I didn't think it was.

9. check in the law and Politics forum, there is a thread that has links to splitting and filtering threads all over teh place.