Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Wheel alignment question

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by kyp, Oct 25, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm new to bikes. I've got stupid question about wheel alignment. I've just noticed my rear wheel doesn't have alignment weight on it where front wheel has it, just comparing with cars where all 4 wheels have weights. Is that normal practice for bikes not to have weights on rear wheel, or I just lost it after drop?
  2. #2 bulby, Oct 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 24, 2015
    I'm new too, and I've never heard of such thing. Interested to know what the more experienced folks have to say :)

As far as rear wheel alignments go, I'm pretty sure most bikes have those bits on the swingarm you can adjust to tighten / loosen your chain. You adjust the left and right sides separately, so I'm guessig this takes care of rear wheel alignment.
  3. OK firstly, the wieghts on wheels don't have anything to do with alignment. They are there to balance the wheel. Different things

I assume you are actually asking about balance.

Yes you do see weights on bike wheels. You just may be lucky in that your tyre and wheel combination didn't need weights. Is there any noticable vibration from the wheels?

If so then the weights may have fallen off or they weren't balance properly. If there is no vibration then it's fine.

And yes Bulby is right with regards wheel alignment. That can be largely achieved through the rear wheel adjustment, though a more serious misalignment is a different matter.
  4. If you're talking about the weights attached to your rim, they are balance weights, not wheel alignment weights..