Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Whatever happened to the nod?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Cleo, May 23, 2009.

1. THE NOD??? :evil:

When I started riding in 2000, every biker I passed NODDED in my direction! It was great receiving some acknowledgement from a fellow biker!

WHAT HAPPENED??? :shock:

Nowadays, for every 10 bikers I pass, I'm lucky if I get ONE nod!!

It truly takes that little extra pleasure out of riding!
    It is a girl thing?? A cruiser thing?? An engine size thing??

Anyone have any comments/suggestions??

I think we should bring back the nod, damnit... :evil:
  2. Plenty of nodding around here.
    Welcome to NR too :wink:
  3. Re: whatever happened to... ???

I agree...the nod seems to be disappearing.
  4. Get plenty of nods around here, but i notice the higher the concentration of bikers the less you get, probably as if everyone nodded to everyone around macquarie pass each weekend your neck may break

5. +1 to that. Still, get plenty of nods just the same. :cool:

Must be all those friendly Wollongong folk eh!
  6. We left glove first people tend not to nod to the right glove first crowd, so that will mean 50% nods at best. :wink:
  7. Good point!
    I'm in the Dandenong Ranges in Melbourne... and it's a haven for motorcyclists and tourists on the weekend. Many, many bikes to pass on a pleasant day....

Still... I just have this feeling that things have degraded...
    Perhaps people, in general, are becoming more self-absorbed and self-centred...

I, for one, am sending out a plea: to those of you who don't nod when you could, please pause and reflect. WHY don't you?? Would it kill you??

You could make a fellow biker feel happier about the state of the world.