Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What to wear on pre learner course?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Robb0, Jan 28, 2007.

1. Hey People

I'm all new to this forum and I'm new to motorbike. So hello to everyone.

I'm doing my pre learner course in march and I read that Long sleeved jacket or jersey made of a sturdy material such as leather or denim is what I need to wear for the top half of me. Now I dont own a leather or denim jacket is there something else I can wear made of a different meterial that will be acceptable? Otherwise I'll go out and buy a cheap leather jacket.

Just one last question with shoes can I wear slip on steel cap work boots. Or wouldnt that be a good thing to wear? I do hav some old joggers and skate shoes. I will be buying all the motorbike gear as soon I get my L's

Sorry bout all my stupid questions :oops:

2. It's not that bigger deal, but if you have the cash handy get a jacket that you are going to keep and wear for when you start riding in earnest.

As for the boots I suggest wearing your steel capped ones. I would never recommend wearing steel cap boots while riding normally but at the maximum 25km/h you will be doing your boots will be a lot more comfortable and safer than regular shoes.
  3. When I did mine I wore jeans runners and a long sleeve top, as well as taking a random jacket I found in the cupboard. Not leather, just a little bit bulky looking. But its summer now so I'd go with short sleeve top and a lightish jacket. They're not too fussed about it as long as you're covered up. And don't forget sunnies as when I did it we had to have our visors down if we didn't have them, and it was hot!

Good luck you'll have a blast :LOL: :cool:
  4. Welcome to NR Robb0 :)