Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What to do while waiting for L's

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by bcurko, Aug 28, 2008.

1. Hey Guys at netrider my names Brenton and i am happy to say i am a complete newbie at motorcycles and can't wait to go for my L's next year and hopefully purchase a motorcycle.

I am 15 next month and so as you know i still have quite a while to go before NSW law permits me to go for my L plates. In the mean time i was wondering what i should do?

Should i start reading up on any guides or start looking at motorcycles?

I was looking at the Hyosung 250 but after a lot of negative quarrels with it I'm kinda leaning towards something a bit more reliable which hopefully with the help of you guys i will succeed.

So anyways just thought i might say hi :D

PS the only motorbike i own is a 125cc Orion trail bike kiddie i know :(

Cheers Boys/Girls

2. Welcome, ur still a youngin' haha, nah good on ya.
    Before i got my licence i decided to grab a heap of motorcycle magazines and read up and learn on every model, engine types, DIY stuff basically. I was and still am a huge car nutter and the only thing i knew about bikes was Ninja, R1, GSXR :)

As for the Hyo, dont bother, when you get ur licence you could pick up a few year old current ninja 250.

3. Hmmm I just got my L's a couple of weeks ago and my bike last week. Prior to that I had no knowledge or idea at all. This place was VERY useful to me, a lot of tips and good explanations on techniques etc. Also, one guy on on youtube has some videos on how to start the bike, chnge gears, counter steer etc etc as a brand newie i found it very helpful..... but, you already have a bike, so i think you'd know how that all works...
    Good luck!