Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

What to Buy Up to $30K?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by Womble, May 5, 2013.

1. Howdy folks.
    It's time to buy a new bike and I am useless at making decisions.

I've got 30+ years riding experience and my recent bikes have been a 2010 Er6N, 2011 Z1000, 2012 M109R - previous bikes range from YPVS350LC, RG250, RG500, GSX750r, R80 etc.

I'm sorely tempted by the ZX14R or the BMW K1300R but am looking for left field suggestions.

I normally do about 20,000 - 25,000K per year which is a mix of commuting, weekend warrior and longer (4 day) rides.

Budget is up to $30K not including options, I have a preference for shaft drive, grunt, and engineering quality.

I'm done with cruisers for the time being as my current M109r is better for me than 95% of other cruisers out there IMO.

I only have room to store one bike.

What do you suggest?

*NB Not interested in Harleys or Ducati's

2. want to buy a hug? 30k, take it or leave it

• Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  3. 2013 BMW S1000RR HP4

2013-BMW-S1000RR-HP4.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Do I get "extra's?"

5. Until I read done with cruisers and no ducatis was going to suggest Ducati diavel.

uploadfromtaptalk1367750780991.

Easy buy a street triple. You could buy two for $30k.

6. Sorry, I should have mentioned my fcuked back (broken neck and I'm carrying numerous other injuries from a life of martial arts and power lifting).

Also the SS is chain drive but it IS a bloody lovely bike.

7. Good suggestions there, but the M109 does 80% of what the Diavel does and having sat on one this weekend at Frasers the seating position was still a bot too much for my tail bone.

Striple was considered and rejected when I had a Z1000.